loader image

Alex Okoh is Independent Newspapers’ 2021 Public Sector CEO of the Year.

Director General of the Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE), Mr. Alex Ayoola Okoh has emerged winner of the Independent Newspapers 2021 Public Sector CEO of the Year Award.

The Director General who was presented with the Award recently amongst other Awardees in different categories in Lagos, was singled out by the Management and Board of Editors of the Newspapers for his exceptional leadership qualities and contributions to the growth and development of the Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE) since assumption of office in 2017.

The Award organisers noted that BPE under Okoh’s watch, has left concrete milestones in the privatisation and liberalisation of the Nigerian economy with a model of verifiable achievements which are in line with the philosophy of the award: Celebrating trailblazers and exceptional Nigerians.

Speaking shortly after the Award, Okoh said: “You can see how I am smiling. I am just so excited. I am so happy that the work we are doing at BPE has been recognized and to be given such recognition at a National Platform  is impressive. To be honest, I think it could not have been possible without the contributions, efforts, cooperation and collaboration of every staff of the Bureau of Public Enterprises. Once again, I dedicate this award to all of us at BPE”.

The Award is coming shortly after the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) scored BPE the second best on ethics and integrity out of 360 Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) of the Federal Government in the 2021 Ethics and Integrity Compliance Card (EICS).

In his welcome address, the Managing Director of Independent Newspapers Limited, Mr. Steve Omanufeme said the 2021 edition of the awards “focuses on people with exceptional performance in their chosen profession and walks of life” and that is why it was themed: Celebrating Trailblazers.

He said the Newspapers’ Board of Editors specifically embarked on a thorough and painstaking assessment from which the distinguished award recipients were selected, adding that “today, we are here to celebrate you all for your services to Nigeria (our Country), in your chosen fields. Indeed, you all have a rich resume of achievements worthy of emulation”.

Thirty-one individuals and corporate organisations, including ten governors, serving ministers and parliamentarians were honoured at the occasion.


Ibeh Uzoma Chidi

Head, Public Communications

March 15, 2022.