loader image

NCP Approves Standing Committees’ Membership

NCP Approves Standing Committees’ Membership

The National Council on Privatisation (NCP) has approved the constitution   and membership of its four Standing Committees with immediate effect. These are, Technical Committee (TC), Stakeholder Engagement Committee (SEC), Finance Committee (FC) and Legal Committee (LC).

The approval was part of the decisions taken by the newly inaugurated   Council at its first meeting for year 2022 held between Monday, January 31, 2022 and Tuesday, February 1, 2022, at the Presidential Villa, Aso Rock, Abuja.

Mallam Bello Maccido Chairs the 12-member Technical Committee (TC) with renowned Economist-Dr. Ayo Teriba as the Vice Chairman. The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed is the Chairman of the Stakeholder Engagement Committee (SEC) which has 13 members drawn from relevant stakeholders with the Legal Committee (LC) chaired by renowned lawyer- Mr. Yomi Okunnu. The LC has 12 members.

The Finance Committee is chaired by the Vice Chairman of the NCP, Dr. (Mrs).Shamsuna Ahmed) who is also the Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning. It has seven members drawn from the relevant stakeholders in the financial sector. The Director General of the Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE), Mr. Alex A. Okoh is a member of all the four standing Committees.

It would be recalled that section 9(4) of the Public Enterprises (Privatisation and Commercialistion) Act 1999(the Act) and section 3(1) of the Third Schedule to the Act, empowers the NCP to  appoint  one or more  committees to carry out on behalf  of the Council, such of its functions as the Council may determine.


Ibeh Uzoma Chidi

Head, Public Communications

February 7, 2022.